WEST ORANGE, NJ - The West Orange High School Music Awards Ceremony recently recognized outstanding students in the music program for the 2018-19 school year. 

Graduating members of the Tri-M Music Honor Society received cords and accolades as students in grades 9-11 were also the recipients of awards. The music program encompassed all areas of the music program, including choruses, choirs, Step Teams, orchestras, and bands.

Below is an overview of the evening:

Sign Up for West Orange Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Presentation of Graduation Cords to seniors by Tri-M Officers Wolfgang Scheitinger, Aysar Abdegelil, Danielle Russell and Brett Zeligson. 

PERFORMANCE: “Rondo Alla Turk”- Period 5 Honors Chamber Ensemble- Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart 

Presentation of Awards to String students by Ben Rubin-Schnirman 

  • Director’s Award for Orchestra:  Nadine Baldo, Risa Kampel
  • Orchestra Service Award: Carlos Herbozo, Emanuel Abiye
  • New Jersey Region I Orchestra: Jack Klausner, Michael McCullom
  • NJ Region I Orchestra and All State Orchestra:  Ayush Narain
  • Most Improved Orchestral Award: Ziyanna Amanuel
  • National Orchestra Award: Danielle Berger  

PERFORMANCE: “Blue Rhythmico”- Period 7 Honors Chamber Ensemble- Kirt Mosier

Presentation of Awards to Choral students by Mr. Bill Farley & Mr. John Hellyer:  

  • Director’s Award for Chorus: Aden Lugo & Maria Nalieth
  • Choir Service Award: Gabrielle Florendo, Daniella Rodriguez, Danielle Russell
  • Most Improved Choral Student:  Anthony Bollotta, Nyasia Foster, Philip Ojo 
  • NJ Region I Chorus:  Matthew Kotowski, Philip Ojo, Khalil Louigene, Olivia Ridley,

          Andree Celestin, Joseph Florendo, Marie Nalieth,

  • National Choral Award: Gabrielle Florendo, Ruben Centeno


Presentation of Awards to Boys Step Team - Bill Farley 

Presentation of Awards to Girls Step Team - Keisha Yarrell

Presentation of Awards to Band and Color Guard Students by Lewis Kelly,  Erin McClure,  and  Joshua Zimmer 

Ninth Grade Band:

  • Director’s Award for Band: Aditya Jacob 

Concert Band:

  • Most Improved, Best Musicianship, Outstanding Member, Outstanding Senior 

Symphonic Winds:

  • Most Improved, Best Musicianship, Outstanding Member, Outstanding Senior
  • Patrick S. Gilmore Band Award: Michael McCullom 
  • John Philip Sousa Band Award: Louis Kravits
  • Band Service Award: Nicole Adelsohn, Jordyn Leon, Samuel Louis Charles  

Presentation of Awards to Marching Band students

  • Drum Major Awards: Orianna Carter, Anika Fernandes 
  • Drum Captain Awards:  Michael McCullom, Vincent Egan
  • Pit Percussion Captain Award: Nicole Adelsohn, Vincent Daniels
  • Color Guard Captain Award: Siddhi Modi, Catherine Rodriguez  

Presentation of Marching Band Letters – Mr. Kelly & Ms. Lagatic

  • National School Marching Band Award: Orianna Carter 

Certificates of Participation to Winter Guard Members – Ms. Lagatic 

Presentation of Jazz Band Awards 

  • Louis Armstrong Jazz Award: Destiny Diggs-Pinto
  • Woody Herman Jazz Award:  Wolfgang Scheitinger 

Recognition of Achievement 

  • North Jersey Area Band:   Matt Veal, Ruth Donagher, Zack Dong
  • North Jersey Area Band, Region I Band: Anika Fernandes, Wolfgang Scheitinger
  • North Jersey Area Band, Region I Band & Orchestra: Michael McCullom, Jack Klausner
  • North Jersey Area Band, Region I Band, All-State Band: Stanley Lim
  • North Jersey Area Band, Region I Band, All-State Band, All-Eastern Band: Louis Kravits

Special Presentations by Supervisor of Fine Arts Louis Quagliato

Presented by: Mr. Louis Quagliato

Introduction of student representatives

Orchestra – Danielle Berger, Ziyanna Amanuel Chorus – Ruben Centeno & Gabrielle Florendo

Step Team—Tyler Brooks, Sam Boyer, Gio Trinidad

Band – Orianna Carter, Anika Fernandes 

Presentation of Music Faculty Scholarships to Danielle Berger, Daneille Russell, Louis Kravitz, Destiny Diggs-Pinto, and Wolfgang Scheitenger. Scholarships were in the amount of $200 and given to students planning to major in music and the arts.

Students presented gifts to Mr. Hellyer and Mr. Farley, and WOHS Booster President and Vice-President Matt Mongelli and Michael Adelsohn closed out the evening on another very succesful year for the high school music program.