West Orange Students Inducted into Escriptus Honor Society for Journalistic Talent

Graduating Escriptus Seniors. Credits: Cynthia Cumming
Newly inducted juniors Credits: Cynthia Cumming

WEST ORANGE, NJ – Rising seniors at West Orange High School meeting the rigorous Escriptus Honor Society requirements recently joined the ranks of the prestigious honor society, while graduating seniors received the cords that they later donned at graduation. 

To qualify for Escriptus, students must receive a grade of “A” in all Language Arts classes for all four years of high school. Once becoming a member, students must attend meetings, maintain a monthly bulletin board, participate in school activities, assist in the coordination of the annual Poetry Out Loud event, and be published in three separate publications. 

Language Arts Supervisor for Grades 6-12 Elizabeth Veneziano welcomed the family, friends and colleagues present for the ceremony. Advisors Mindy Harvat and Molly Wachtel presented cords to the seniors and led new members in the oath of induction.

Sign Up for E-News

Graduating Seniors

Blair Allen — Drexel University

Aion Ashby — Cornell University

Melissa Callen — Stevens Institute of Technology

Anna Favetta (Outgoing President) — University of Delaware

David Fernandez — Rhode Island School of Design

Julian Gorring — Ithaca College

Aishwarya Kanagala — The Honors College of Rutgers University

Katie Meyerson — American University

Tanveer Qureshi — The George Washington University

Abby Rosu — The College of New Jersey

Lilian Umetiti — Rutgers University

Margaux Whitehead — Loyola University Chicago 

Newly inducted members for the 2018-19 School Year

Aysar Abdelgelil

Katie Andersen

Maribel Andrade

Danielle Berger

Aarushi Bhatnagar

Jordan Broking

Morgan Clark

Sessina Dani

Rebecca Dannemiller

Celeste Dayal

Eniya Jaber

Emily Lux

Connor Mills

Riddhi Modi (Incoming President)

Siddhi Modi

Nyah Moliere

Proggya Paromita

Grace Perincheri

Mike Petros

Zoe Rivera

Ameera Seetahal

Truman Segal

Jaden Thompson

Ruthanne Ward

Hannah Winter

Saleme Woldai

The Escriptus Honor Society, whose motto “Gelast Sceal Mid Are,” or “Duty Goes With Honor,” adorns its seal, also recognized the members of its advisory committee: Victor Alcindor, Elicia Baker, Katie Baran, Tonio Favetta, Mindy Harvat, Janine Sullivan, Tynia Thomassie and Molly Wachtel. 

Don’t miss important news in your town. Click HERE to subscribe for free, or follow us on Facebook and on Twitter at @WestOrangeTAP.

To download the FREE TAPinto App, Click here for Android or Click here for iOS.

TAP Into Another Town's News:

You May Also Be Interested In

Sign Up for E-News

West Orange

$100 OFF per Week for Summer Camp Now!

July 12, 2018

Guerrero Marital Arts is now offering an 8-week summer camp for summer 2018!

Pick which weeks you want!

Camp Weeks are:

July 16, July 23, July 30, August 6, August 13, August 20, August 27

Includes the following:

Fun (through Sports, Play and Games)
Field Trips (may cost extra)
Life Lessons
Reading Time
Martial Arts
A great place to ...

Bucco Couture Summer Sale on All Custom Suits, Shirts and Casual Wear

NUTLEY, NJ — Save while looking sharp! 20% off all summer wear an extra 10% savings for Military, Veterans and all first responders at Bucco Couture, 187 Franklin Avenue in Nutley, with the launch of some new products such as our tracksuit line, crushed cotton drawstring pants and jeans. 

We also carry Bugatchi and Rober Graham casual wear as well as stretch high V-neck ...

Newark Lures Amazon With $1 Billion Payroll Tax Incentive

July 14, 2018

NEWARK, NJ - Amazon will get a payroll tax break at a cost of $1 billion to the city should the company open its second headquarters in Newark, according to one of two ordinances approved by the Newark City Council council to sweeten the deal for the corporate giant and stand out among other locations vying for Amazon’s so-called HQ2.

“The City Council has brought Newark a ...

Upcoming Events

Wed, August 15, 10:00 AM

Cancer Center Resource Room, Belleville

Living Well with Parkinson’s Disease Support ...

Health & Wellness


Sat, August 25, 2:00 PM

Oskar Schindler Performing Arts Center (OSPAC), West Orange


Arts & Entertainment Giving Back

West Orange PAL Spring Travel Baseball Teams Wrap Up (Championship Team Photos Included)

The West Orange PAL Spring Travel Baseball season started with a cold front. Practices began indoors in January with teams practicing two nights a week working on conditioning and baseball fundamentals. Once the snow had melted teams began battling the cold and working outdoors, with three or four practices a week in addition to their games. 

And the hard work and dedication paid off! All ...

Public Invited to Essex County Opioid Use Prevention Task Force Meeting

July 15, 2018

CALDWELL, NJ — All Essex County residents, mayors and councils, law enforcement members, school officials, clergy members, civic organizations and more are invited to join in the next Essex County Opioid Use Prevention Task Force meeting on Tuesday at 5:30 p.m. to discuss how the Essex County communities can join work together to eradicate this epidemic.

The meeting will be held at the ...

Would Shedding

How much wood wouldn’t a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck woodn’t?


Enough already.  


I get it.  It is an easy mistake to make, misusing would and wouldn’t.  It happens to me all the time.


“Honey, when I said I didn’t see any reason why I would go to the ballet, I meant to say I couldn’t see ...