Five Westfield High School seniors have been named semifinalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. They are:  Owen Browne, Andres Chang, Jeffrey Marino, Eric Mikalauskas, and Eric Oberman. According to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, the nationwide pool of Semifinalists represents less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest scoring entrants in each state on the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

They will have an opportunity to continue in the competition to become a finalist for 2013 Merit Scholarship awards that will be offered in the spring. In congratulating all the students, Westfield High School Principal, Peter Renwick, noted that their performance “speaks volumes about their abilities and commitment to their education.”