WESTFIELD, NJ — Five Westfield High School seniors have advanced as finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship program, having met academic and other standards to become eligible for scholarships, Westfield Public Schools announced Tuesday.

They are: Nicholas Youssef, Michael Hauge, Amy Liang, Olivia Hamilton and Soo Min Chung. 

The program honors students who show exceptional academic ability and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

Sign Up for E-News

“Everyone at Westfield High School is very proud of our National Merit Scholarship finalists,” Principal Derrick Nelson said. “They have worked extremely hard to get to this point in their academic/high school careers. They are a credit to their families, WHS and themselves.”

In October, the Westfield Board of Education honored the students, who at that time had earned semi-finalist ranking, placing them among the 1.1 percent of students who took the Preliminary SAT qualifying test.