On September 5, just one day before the opening of the Westfield Public Schools, both veteran and new staff members were welcomed by Superintendent Margaret Dolan in a morning gathering held at Westfield High School’s auditorium.

Dr. Dolan reminded the hundreds of teachers in attendance that theirs is the “profession that surely generates a path to hope in the future, hope in the next generation.”  

Board of Education President Gretchan Ohlig praised the staff for teaching the students to be independent thinkers.  She thanked them for being energetic, smart and dedicated professionals who would continue to receive support from the Board.

Gail Alston, President of the Westfield Education Association, described the significance of trust which parents place in the hands of teachers.  She reminded the educators that the Association and the District “are here to make the year a success.” 

In addition to the September 5 meeting, newly hired Westfield Public School teachers and support staff attended the in-house New Staff Institute (NSI) on August 29-30, receiving orientation and training to become familiar with expectations of the district and community. Of the 35 teachers, the majority are new to the district, while a few stepped in as mid-year leave replacements during the last school year. To offer further support to both first year educators and to those veteran teachers who are new to Westfield, NSI meetings also will take place in the next two years.  The new teachers include:

Caitlyn Altieri, Westfield High School (WHS), Mathematics

Steven Barandica, WHS, Athletic Trainer

Meri Beliveau, WHS, French

Gregory Bowers, WHS, Social Studies

Rebecca Carr, Franklin, 4th Grade

Jessica Ciampa, Edison Intermediate School (EIS), Language Arts

Rebecca Corregan, Franklin, Special Education

Cathleen Cronin, WHS, Social Studies

Craig, D'Amico, Tamaques, 4th Grade

Beth Dorrity , EIS, Mathematics

David Filchak, McKinley, Art

Siobhan Ford, Lincoln, Wrap Coordinator

Maureen Francis, WHS, Music

Ellen Frederick, WHS, Special Education

Allison Friedman, EIS, Science

Noelia Garcia, WHS, Spanish

Annie Goodwin, Roosevelt Intermediate School (RIS), Industrial Technology

Catherine Halloran, Jefferson, 3rd Grade

Karen Hauge, Washington/RIS, Music

Jessica Herrera, EIS, Science

Kacie Johnson, McKinley, 3rd Grade

Stephanie Landay-Nesser, Tamaques, Media Specialist

Laura Linenberg, Jefferson, 4th Grade

Michael Loeser, Wilson, Special Education

Arwa Lokhandwala, WHS, Chemistry

Jessica MacDougall, Fr/Je/Mc/Wa, Behaviorist

Megan Martinez, RIS, Physical Education

Marisa Milas, WHS, Italian

Brianna Mitchell, Washington, 4th Grade

Kathryn Obiedzinski, Lincoln, Special Education

Toni-Nicole Redman, Lincoln Kindergarten

Nicole Roth, Washington, Art

Jennifer Sirmans, WHS, Special Education

Jacquelyn Smolenski, WHS, Chemisty

Elizabeth Truncali, McKinley, Special Education


New administrative appointments, due in large part to recent retirements, include: 
Susie Hung – Principal of Jefferson Elementary School
Mary Asfendis – Principal of Roosevelt Intermediate School
Crystal Marsh – Assistant Principal of Edison Intermediate School
Paul Duncan – Assistant Principal of Franklin Elementary School
Tom Weber – Supervisor of Visual and Performing Arts
Enrique Pincay – World Language and ELL Supervisor

Dr. Dolan expressed her sincere interest in “working with all our new staff members and hearing new perspectves and suggestions for continuing our Tradition of Excellence.”