Newly hired Westfield Public School teachers and support staff attended the in-house New Staff Institute (NSI) prior to the start of school, receiving orientation and training to become familiar with expectations of the district and community. Of the 36 attending NSI, the majority are new to the district, while a few stepped in as mid-year leave replacements during the last school year. To offer further support to both first year educators and to those veteran teachers who are new to Westfield, NSI meetings also will take place in the next two years.

At a NSI luncheon held on September 1, Westfield Board of Education Vice President, Gretchan Ohlig, welcomed the new teachers to the district.  Westfield Education Association President, Michael Seiler, told the newcomers that they are entering a district with a well-deserved reputation for excellence. Superintendent of Schools, Margaret Dolan, wished the new teachers a year of learning and growing and reminded the new hires that the administration reviewed thousands of resumes and held hundreds of interviews before making selections. 

Dr. Dolan addressed all teachers in the district at a morning assembly for staff held September 2.  Reiterating the district’s theme, “A Tradition of Excellence,” Dr. Dolan gave examples of how a teacher can influence a student’s life. Board of Education President Richard Mattessich also credited teachers for making a difference. Michael Seiler took the opportunity to remind them that they are role models for their students.

The new teaching staff includes:  Denise Abrantes – Wrap Coordinator, Lincoln School; Lindsay Acker – School Social Worker, Special Services Child Study Team; Kristen Bartok – Pre-K Teacher, Lincoln School; Jennifer Bastable - 4th Grade, Tamaques School; Jennifer Best - 4th Grade, McKinley School; Heather Bloch - Resource Center, Franklin School; Kim Blutfield -1st Grade, Washington School; Sheryl Brindle - English, Westfield High School; Cristina Capara - Guidance Counselor, Roosevelt Intermediate; Megan Carr – English, Roosevelt Intermediate; Michael Cedrone - Math, Westfield High School; Patricia Clark- Special Education, Westfield High School; Kendall Deck - Math, Westfield High School; Dawn Donahue - 5th Grade, Jefferson School; Jennifer Fallone -Special Education, Edison Intermediate; Margaret Fatsis - Inst. Music, Edison Intermediate; Marybeth Finn -Nurse, Wilson School; Peter Fredas   - Resource Center, Tamaques School; Zachary Heebner - Math, Edison Intermediate; Darlene Hill - Guidance Counselor, Westfield High School; Lara Jackson  - School Psychologist, Special Services Child Study Team; Maryann Kennedy - Nurse, Tamaques School; Lizabeth Kingsley - Resource Center/Achieve, Jefferson School; Kristi Lange - Special Education, Edison Intermediate; Julie Lupin - Speech/Language Specialist, Special Services; Jessica Manson - LLD, Washington School; John McGrory - Social Studies, Edison Intermediate; Marissa Minogue - Vocal/Inst. Music, Washington School; Julia Mirfield – Special Education, Roosevelt Intermediate; Jennifer Montana - Guidance Counselor, Roosevelt Intermediate; Andrea Poppiti - Science, Roosevelt Intermediate; Robert Ripper -Nurse, Westfield High School; Marie Rokosky - Special Education, Lincoln School; John Scozzaro - Instrumental Music, Edison Intermediate; Holly Smith - Wrap Coordinator, Lincoln School; Lisa Solomon - Resource Center, Tamaques School; and Jessica Urriola - Technology, Roosevelt Intermediate.