WESTFIELD, NJ — The Optimist Club of Westfield is now accepting nominations for its 20th annual Intermediate School Outstanding Teacher Awards. Two intermediate school teachers – one from Edison and one from Roosevelt Intermediate Schools – will be chosen to receive the award on June 14 at an Optimist dinner and will be honored at a Westfield Board of Education meeting on June 13.

The deadline for nominations is May 5. Nominations should specify ways in which the teacher has demonstrated outstanding teaching, interest in children and continued pursuit of professional growth.  The nominee must be a full-time teacher in the Westfield Public Schools in grades six through eight for a minimum of five years.

“The Outstanding Teacher Award gives deserving credit to our intermediate school teachers who provide an educationally stimulating and supporting environment during the critical stage of adolescence,” Superintendent Margaret Dolan said.

Sign Up for E-News

Students, parents and staff are encouraged to submit nomination letters to optiaward@westfieldnjk12.org or Outstanding Teacher Award Committee of the Optimist Club of Westfield, c/o Office of the Superintendent, Westfield Public Schools, 302 Elm St., Westfield, NJ  07090. 

Over the years, the Optimist Club of Westfield has supported the schools and children through annual programs and projects that benefit youth and the local community.

Previous winners of the award from Edison include: Erin Meade, Christine Cabrales, Kerri Webster, Debbie Ann Vezos, Kristi Houghtaling, Kristine Smith-Morasso, Michael Altman, Marni Kirschenbaum, Alexandra Boutsikaris, David Greer, Teresa Squillace, Kathleen Zippler, Janice Sheridan, Robert Hild, Gloria White-James, Nancy Rygiel, David Shapiro, Walter Buda and Robert Sanders.

Roosevelt teachers who have been honored with the Optimist award include: Christine Cassu, Erika Hodges, Colleen Rapparelli, Pamela Friedman, Stephanie Kwiatkowski, Laura Segedin, Denis McMorrow, Marc Biunno, Dona Panagos, Jeffrey Robbins, Glen Kurz, Elizabeth Scheuerer, Linda Vail, Karen Lust, Jack Martin, Wendy Masteller, Thomas Reynolds, Walter Buda, Lynne Gerber and Frank Nolde.