The 2016-2017 Parent-Teacher Council (PTC) of the Westfield Public Schools launched the second half of the school year at its monthly meeting sharing ideas, interests and news about each school. The PTC, led by President Monica Bergin, is an umbrella organization which includes all 10 schools’ parent-teacher-student organizations.  The PTC has scheduled one meeting a month during the school year, beginning with discussions among the PTO presidents and PTC Board, and then opening up to the PTO general membership and public. 

Regular participants at these meetings are Superintendent Margaret Dolan and Board of Education member Amy Root. Topics such as school policies, district budget, student achievement and PTO initiated fundraising activities are discussed.

“Our regular meetings with the PTO representatives and PTC board provide an excellent vehicle for two-way communication,” explained Dr. Dolan.  “At the meetings we have the opportunity to hear both the good news and the concerns of our parents in our schools through their representatives. At the same time, the parents learn what decisions are being made or considered by the Board of Education  It’s a very helpful process for all concerned.  We are so fortunate in this district to have so many dedicated volunteers.”

 Attending the February meeting (seated l-r) are: PTC Board members Joelene Ritter, Suzanne Sherman, Monica Bergin, Amisha Mehta, and Donna Kenny.  PTO presidents include (standing first row) Chitra Singh and Wendy Rotella - Jefferson School; Jenn White - Edison Intermediate School; Alyson Twilley -Franklin School; Carolyn Miller - Westfield High School; Fran Prybylski and Lynn Pritti - Lincoln School; Josephine Stack - Roosevelt Intermediate School; and (second row l-r) Denise Harper - Tamaques School; Jenn Czarnecki - Edison Intermediate School; Yun Won Cho – Washington School; Paola Briones-Marro – McKinley School; Alayne Morgenthal – Westfield High School; Cheryl Bishop – McKinley School; Kerry Mooney – Wilson School; and Suzann Duncan – Roosevelt Intermediate School.  Unavailable for photo are:  Soo Sang - Franklin School, Sharon Henderson – Tamaques School, Stephanie Walsh – Washington School,  and Christine Dwan – Wilson School.