WESTFIELD, NJ - Twenty-four Westfield High School seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program.  Commended students placed among the top 2.3 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test in critical reading, mathematics and writing skills.
The Commended Students from Westfield High School include: Alana K. Basil, Sarah E. Chandler, Melissa De Candia, Dominick F. De Paula, Michael S. DePaolo, Isabel J. Docampo, Amanda T. Earl, Rory S. Fitzpatrick, Alex N. Goldschmidt, Zoe R. Greenburg, Jason J. Isbit, Rafaella J. Jakubovic, Allegra T. Larche, Danielle A. Lipschutz, Finbar M. Martinson, Kevin Oster, Brian S. Pollock, Zhe Qin, Matthew Ragoza, Rebecca Sarkos, Andrew H. Schwarz, Stephanie J. Tepper, Caroline E. Weber, and Alexander R. Zimmerman.
According to a letter of congratulations from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation to Westfield High School Principal Peter Renwick, “Commended Students are being recognized for the exceptional promise demonstrated by their outstanding performance on the qualifying test used for program entry.”  The Director of Educational Services for the National Merit Scholarship Corporation, Michelle S. Robbins, concluded with, “We have great respect for the important part that you and your professional staff play in the development of academically talented young people, and it is a genuine pleasure for NMSC to join you in honoring these able students.”