Westfield High School’s delegation of 173 students participated in wide ranging debates at the YMCA Model United Nations Conference in Hershey, PA, January 9 - 11.  Following months of research and preparation, Westfield High School received several awards, including the Outstanding Delegation Award that recognizes success in the conference as a whole from preparation to debates.

The following individual students were individually recognized:  William Chandler, Albert Chen, Astha Dutta, Spencer Fishman, Ryan Soldati, Eli Wirtshafter and Andrew Zale were named Premier Diplomat as top debaters. 

The following WHS students were recognized for the Outstanding Country Research Paper:  Francis Ling, Abigail Hurwitz, Andrew Zhou, Jared Geoghan, and Courtney Ryan. 

Sign Up for E-News

The Outstanding Youth Secretariat award, presented to a committee of students who help to improve the conference throughout the year, was bestowed on Jorge Ledesma and Mia Moritz.

The Curtis Meyer Award for Student Leadership – presented to one Youth Secretariat who demonstrates significant leadership – was won by Andrew Zale.

“The students all performed well and were a credit to the institution, “ noted Daniel Farabaugh, co-adviser of the WHS Model UN along with David Della Fera. “ I was impressed with both their level of preparation and execution.”

Officers for the 2014-2015 Conference included Ed Dellarso and Andrew Zale.  Officers elected for next year’s Conference, who will plan, organize and run committees, are Bryanna Reinhardt, Albert Chen, Ethan Prevoznak, and Elizabeth Smith. 

This summer a Conference on National Affairs will take place during a two-week conference in North Carolina with representatives from all 50 states.  Westfield High School will be represented by William Chandler, Astha Dutta, Anthony Pirrone and Elizabeth Smith.