WESTFIELD, NJ — Twenty-one members of Westfield Public Schools staff were honored for more 535 years of combined service by the Board of Education and their colleagues at the 27th annual Gala for school employees June 5.

The annual event, which was held this year at the Pantagis Renaissance in Scotch Plains, brings staff members together to honor retirees and employees with 25 years of service.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Margaret Dolan and Westfield Education Association President Kim Schumacher thanked employees for their dedication and service to the school district. Board of Education President Richard Mattessich and Vice President Rosanne Kurstedt formally recognized retirees and 25-year employees. 

Sign Up for E-News

This year’s retirees include: Pat Bradley, executive secretary, business office; Michael Clarke, head custodian, Lincoln; Barbara Costine, secretary, Westfield High School (WHS); Kathleen Ellis, special education teacher, Lincoln; Ann Hade, guidance secretary, WHS; Thomas Hornish, social studies teacher, WHS; Jeanne Jensen, nurse, Tamaques; Les Jacobsen, math teacher, WHS; Kathy Kopec, special education teacher, Edison Intermediate School; Anne Marie Petriano, first-grade teacher, Tamaques; Salvatore Petrucelli, head custodian, Washington; Richard Salls, fourth-grade teacher, Wilson; David Shapiro, music teacher, EIS; Marilyn Toriello, special education teacher, Roosevelt Intermediate School; and Kathi Wildstein, pre-kindergarten teacher, Lincoln.

Twenty-five year honorees included: Jennifer Buccino, physical education teacher, Tamaques; Nancy Cunliffe, secretary, McKinley; Karen Federico, special education teacher, Edison Intermediate School; Ann Hade, guidance secretary, WHS; Leah Jarvis, art teacher, WHS; Jeanne Jensen, nurse, Tamaques; Catherine McGarry, first-grade teacher, McKinley; and Geraldine Rizzo, paraprofessional, McKinley.