WESTFIELD, NJ – Students who have excelled in athletics, performing arts and volunteerism were honored in a presentation during Tuesday night’s school board meeting.

“We are so proud of our students and their coaches and instructors, especially during this difficult spring,” said Board President Peggy Oster. “I’m always amazed at how wonderful our students are and our community is in Westfield.”


Sign Up for Westfield Newsletter
Our newsletter delivers the local news that you can trust.

Student athletes recognized during the presentation included:

  • Katie Hamilton – Hamilton ran the 1600 meter during winter Track and Field. She is the first ever Westfield High School indoor winner at the Meet of Champions. She is also a Group 4 Champion and a Sectional Champion.
  • Caroline Collins, Isabel Boufarah, Katie Hamilton and Emily DiSarno – these four Westfield High School students are Group 4 Champions for the 4x800 relay.
  • Colin Freer – Freer, who played football, basketball and lacrosse at Westfield High School, was chosen as a Scholar Athlete at the Union County Interscholastic Athletic Conference. He won the Frank J. Cicarell Award for Union County Scholar Athlete of the Year. He will play lacrosse at Princeton University.
  • Faith Dobosiewicz – Dobosiewicz, who played soccer and basketball at Westfield High School, was also chosen as a Scholar Athlete at the Union County Interscholastic Athletic Conference. She will play soccer at Rutgers University.
  • Griffin Rooney – Rooney, who played football, basketball, and track and field at Westfield High School, was chosen as a Scholar Athlete by the New Jersey State Interscholastic Athletic Association. He will play football at Lafayette College.

Performing Arts

Westfield High School’s production of Radium Girls received a 2020 Foxy Award for Outstanding Production of a Drama. For her performance in the show, Sophie Tananbaum received Foxy Awards for Outstanding Performance by a Lead Actress in a Drama and for Overall Outstanding Performance of a High School Actress.

Westfield High School senior Anthony Merlo became the school board’s Board Meeting Videographer in his sophomore year. Since then, he has recorded every board meeting for the last three years.


Students on the Jefferson Green Team were recognized for receiving Student Recognition Award from the state. Jefferson Principal Dr. Susie Hung attended the virtual board meeting and discussed the group’s work.

“We started weighing how much garbage was produced at lunchtime,” Hung said. The group then analyzed the collected data and created a presentation to share with fellow students. “They went into each of the classes to educate their classmates … on the importance of using food waste as energy.”

The school then began separating waste into several barrels, Hung said, and the Green Team volunteered to monitor this process. “By March, right before we closed down, the whole school was doing it,” she said.

“I’m really happy for these kids, they’re so committed, they’re so positive,” Hung added. “I’m proud of their efforts, their volunteerism, their commitment to the environment, and their need to want to make a difference.”

The Green Team consists of eight fifth-grade students at Jefferson: Niall Biedermann, Marissa DiChiaro, Owen Duffy, Luke Jenner, Neev Nedungadi, Mahie Panjwani, Pedro Puchkarew Do Nascimento and Vivien Xu. Hung said 19 fourth-grade students have expressed interest in joining the team next year.