MOHEGAN LAKE, N.Y. - Susan See and William Hecker have been elected to the Mohegan Lake Fire District Board of Commissioners, according to results provided by the district secretary.

See picked up 212 votes, defeating incumbent Robert Piazza (130 votes) and challenger Barry Brown (49). See, whose term is for five years, is a lifelong Mohegan Lake resident and has been a volunteer firefighter for 28 years. Her father, Robert Gordineer, was on the Board of Commissioners for two decades. Her election to the board makes her the first female commissioner in the district’s 94-year history, See said.

She commended the department and its volunteers and paid professionals, but said there are always areas for improvement.

Sign Up for E-News

“I’d like to have the trucks checked over, run smoother than they are, because they are out constantly,” See told Yorktown News before the election. “The guys are all well-trained, there’s no doubt about that. I just want to help them as much as I can…I want to do what I can do for the community; help them save money. It is a great department and I want to keep it that way.”

In the race to fill a three-year seat, Hecker, the incumbent, defeated Salvatore Vasta, 243 votes to 116. Hecker was appointed to the Board of Commissioners in March and will fill the remainder of the term. Hecker has lived in the district for 30 years and has been a volunteer with the association since. He has been a firefighter and chief of the department, and is currently a deputy chief with the department.

“It’s a good all-around department,” Hecker told Yorktown News before the election. “I just want to continue that for the next three years.”

The Board of Commissioners presides over the Mohegan Lake Fire District, its budget, four stations and paid and volunteer firefighters and EMTs.

Yorktown Fire Results

Incumbent Lou Mastro was re-elected to another five-year term on the Yorktown Heights Fire District Board of Commissioners. Mastro was the only contestant on the ballot and received 56 votes, though Nick D’Andrea received 17 write-in votes.