YORKTOWN, N.Y. – At the recent Regeneron-Westchester Science and Engineering Fair, 600 students from 40 regional high schools presented their research projects to local professionals. The topics covered a broad range of categories including psychology, biology, chemistry, engineering, computer science, math, botany and animal science.

“It is fantastic to see the continued growth of the science research and STEM programs in our area and we are very appreciative of the support from the school administration and community,” said Michael Blueglass, a science research teacher at Yorktown High School.

Of the 40 schools involved in WESEF, Yorktown science research students won more of the Grand Awards than any other school, securing four of the 15 spots at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in Pittsburgh. ISEF is known as the “Olympics of Science Fairs” as it brings together more than 1,700 science fair winners from more than 70 countries.

Sign Up for E-News

In addition to this accomplishment, 17 Yorktown High School science research students have won the opportunity to present their research at the International Genius Olympiad in Oswego. These students will compete against hundreds of science fair winners from all over the world.

The future of the Yorktown Science Research looks bright as 15 of the 17 finalists are underclassmen, who will progress onto the next phase of their research this summer.

Picture 1: Five senior girls are headed to an international science competition in Pittsburgh. Pictured with Assistant Principal John Gollisz, left, and teachers Rachel Koenigstein and Michael Blueglass, right, are Michaela Kyer, Catlin O’Donnell, Hannah Bilton, Emma Bilton and Eden Sheinin.

Picture 2: Seventeen students are heading to the Genius Olympiad in Oswego: top row, Ryan Onatzevitch, Michaela Kyer, Ava Howard, Anna Kunz, Priya Karintholil and Tracey Li; middle row, Assistant Principal John Gollisz, Arielle Maignan, Nicole Pennella, Diane Yang, Kayla Mariuzza, Stacey Li, Allison Cao, and teachers Rachel Koenigstein and Michael Blueglass; front row, Omar Tabanjeh, Spencer Zack, Joe Atherall, Pranav Burugula and Kieran Holmes