The Yorktown Lions Club held its annual Installation Dinner on Friday, June 28, at Vittoria’Z on the Lake, in Jefferson Valley. The presentation of community awards, the recognition of Lions, and the installation of new members, officers and the Board of Directors highlighted the evening’s festivities.

The 2019 Robert L. Cecere Award was presented to the Yorktown Teen Center. Accepting the $1,000 award was President Adrianna Beaudreault.

The 2019 Presidential Community Spirit Award was presented to the Yorktown Tractor Club. Accepting the $1,000 award were Tractor Club members Frank Bulzacchetti and Jack Spezio.

Sign Up for E-News

After new Lions Club members, Emily Lopez and Roger Campos, were sworn in, two long-time Lions were then recognized for their dedication to the club.

The 2018-2019 Melvin Jones Fellow was presented to Rose McTygue. President Jim Poulin then announced his wife, Denise Poulin, as the 2018-2019 Lion of the Year.

The installation of the 2019-2020 Yorktown Lions’ officers and board of directors culminated the evening:
• James Poulin, president
• Michael Bianco, first vice president
• Cherie Frechette, second vice president
• Phyllis Bradbury, treasurer
• Jean Marie Klaus, assistant treasurer
• Denise Poulin, secretary
• Lynn Rucker, tail twister
• William Marks, lion tamer
• Kellie Slater and Maria Marks, membership chairs

Also, announced were the directors: Carol Roberts, Tricy Cushner, Rosemary Lopez, Rose McTygue, and Gerry Knapp (past president).
The Yorktown Lions is a partner of Lions International, the largest service organization in the world. There are 1.35 million members represented in 207 countries with over 46,000 clubs. The Yorktown Lions chapter donates all of its proceeds back into the community: DARE, SPARC, Guiding Eyes, VA Hospital, Support Connection, Yorktown Food Pantry, high school scholarships, Midnight Runs to NYC, the Yorktown Halloween parade and party, and Easter Egg Hunt. Also, the Summer Concert Series, held at the Jack Devito Veterans’ Memorial Field, is organized and funded by the Yorktown Lions.